External Advisory Board

Members of the External Advisory Board to the Dean for the College of Education at San Diego State University are professionals in the San Diego community. Their expertise puts them in a good position to advise the Dean on how to best advance the mission and vision of the college. 

Name Title Organization Term
Moisés G. Aguirre, Ed.D. Superintendent Sweetwater Union High School District 2022-2025 
Carlos Cortez, Ph.D. Chancellor San Diego Community College District 2022-2025
Lynn Sharpe-Underwood Adjunct Professor; Former Executive Director, City of San Diego Commission on Gang Prevention and Intervention Alliant University  2022-2025 
Abdi Mohamoud Executive Director Horn of Africa 2021-2024
Alberto Ochoa, Ph.D.  Professor Emeritus  College of Education, SDSU 2021-2024
Cynthia Davalos, Ph.D. Executive Advisor, Student and Equity Affairs University of California, Office of the President 2021-2024
Alethea Argullez Executive Director  First 5 Commission San Diego  2020-2023
Brent Crandal, Ph.D. Manager, Behavioral Health Services Rady Children's Hospital 2020-2023
Rose Tagnesi  Director, Special Education  Grossmont Union High School District  2020-2023